SuperVegan Logo

As of October, 2013, SuperVegan is no longer under active development.
The site content remains online in the interest of history.

We are still active on Twitter:

To keep informed about future projects of SuperVegan, join the SuperVegan Projects mailing list:

The Amazing Instant New York City Vegan Restaurant Finder


 Either within

How Vegan should the restaurant be?

(check all that apply)

Want more options? Try our mildly overwhelming advanced search page.


 the entire site:

Bats, Black Cats & Halloween Goodies

It’s someone’s idea of commerce: Bats are being caught, killed, and framed, then sold as “art.” I don’t love the Petition Site’s phrasing—it asks eBay to verify whether the bats’ populations are at risk and if they died natural deaths before continuing to sell the “bodies”—but I’m all for signing the petition anyway in hopes that it will save the lives of a lot of the winged creatures.

Black cats, on the other hand, are being protected. The Los Angeles Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, for instance, won’t adopt out the kitties for a week prior to Halloween to prevent them from being “adopted” by haunted houses, then returned after the holiday. The Kootenai Humane Society in Coeur d’Alene, in Idaho, is doing the same, to protect the cats from being abused in pranks or sacrificed in rituals. But some rescue agencies say that black cats aren’t adopted as readily as colored ones, so they’re actually promoting their raven-haired kitties to potential adopters.

If you’re more interested in treats than tricks, PETA Kids has released a list of vegan Halloween goodies, including Airheads taffy, Blow Pops, Cracker Jack, Fireballs, Goldenberg’s Peanut Chews, Hubba Bubba bubblegum, Now and Later, Pez, Starburst, Super Bubble (is this stuff still around?), Swedish Fish, Sweet Tarts, and Twizzlers. If you’re in the mood for something homemade instead, try VegCooking’s candy apple recipe—and let me know how it turns out! I wouldn’t mind finding a recipe for vegan caramel apples, too….

Update: Reader Sosnoop wrote to let us know “Starburst candy is not vegan – it contains gelatin … only the Starburst jellybeans and hard candy are vegan.” Thanks!


  1. Comment by


    on #

    Here ya go one recipe for vegan carmel apples from the 365 halloween site

  2. Comment by

    Roseann Marulli

    on #

    Thanks so much! This sounds yummy.