SuperVegan Logo

As of October, 2013, SuperVegan is no longer under active development.
The site content remains online in the interest of history.

We are still active on Twitter:

To keep informed about future projects of SuperVegan, join the SuperVegan Projects mailing list:

The Amazing Instant New York City Vegan Restaurant Finder

Where?

 Either within
or 

How Vegan should the restaurant be?

(check all that apply)


Want more options? Try our mildly overwhelming advanced search page.

Search

 the entire site:

Category Archive: Allergies

Here are all the SuperVegan blog posts categorized under Allergies. XML

  1. Venture out to Brooklyn Aug. 13 and 20 and let Rochelle Campbell of Moo-Free teach you how to bake without dairy, eggs or honey.

    Following the Aug. 13 lecture, on Aug. 20 you’ll dive in with your own two hands and make vanilla crunch cake, pineapple upside-down cake, marble cake, Brazilian doughnuts, chocolate chip cookies, and brownies, all using unbleached flour, brown sugar, nonaluminum baking powder, soy milk, canola or soybean oil, and natural flavorings.

    The best part is, you get to bring home a little bit of everything!

    Classes are $55 each and run from 2-6 p.m. For more information or to sign up, e-mail Rochelle at moofree5@gmail.com or call 718-789-0416.

  2. Maybe you’re tired of drinking the same old beers and wines that you know aren’t made from animal products, which are also the source of pretty severe allergies for many of us. And maybe printouts of vegan liquor listings just don’t fold up small enough to fit in your pocket or your purse when you go to cocktail parties.

    Whatever the case, there’s good news: As they’ve done with food, by the end of September, the government will start requiring manufacturers to list any of the main allergens contained in or used in the making of their wines and beers. That means no more sneaky fish bladder, no more undisclosed egg whites. A whole new world of booze just might open up, especially if manufacturers follow the law to the letter. Look for some conscientious liquor makers to start labeling their products immediately.

  3. Eat at your own risk.

    Eat at your own risk.

    “Is there any way we can enhance your dining experience by hurting an animal?”—Waiter to vegetarian Lisa on The Simpsons

    This quote might seem ridiculous to omnivores (like the friend who invariably ends up repeating it to me when we’re out to eat and I’ve just asked the waiter the usual questions: What do you use to prepare your rice? Are the beans cooked in lard? What kind of broth was used in the soup?). But with all the hidden ingredients ending up in seemingly safe foods these days, it seems pretty spot-on to me (except that nobody’s explicitly asking).

    Just a few days ago, I reported that some batches of Vegan Parm contained hidden milk ingredients (by the way, I tossed mine—not worth the risk. I’ll stick with Parma! Vegan Parmesan—which is also gluten-free—thank you). And now comes news that Harry & David Wild ’N Spicy Hot Chili Pepper Tortilla Chips also contain undisclosed milk ingredients.

    What the hell is going on???

  4. Could this be in your sweater?

    Could this be in your sweater?

    Speaking of hidden milk ingredients, here’s one place you probably never thought to look: your clothes.

    Yes, milk is used to make clothing. The practice started during World War II, when wool was in short supply, as the resulting fabric is said to feel like cashmere. Today, milk fibers have found new cachet because they’re “green,” free from petroleum-derived components. Some manufacturers even make it a point to use organic milk.

    While one of the purported “benefits” of wearing milk-derived clothing is that the proteins leave your skin soft, some garment makers go so far as to claim that wearing their wares can help alleviate the symptoms of menopause and perimenopause!

    Aside from the obvious—that anyone who wouldn’t wear fur, leather, wool, down, or silk probably wouldn’t choose to wear milk, either—as with any milk product, there’s the risk of serious reactions for people with milk allergies, particularly if the fibers get wet or are inhaled (?). And, as with food, clothing manufacturers are expected to list the derivation of their fibers. So next time you go clothes shopping and think you’re being a good vegan by avoiding wool and the other usual suspects, be sure to check your labels, just in case.

  5. Not so vegan after all?

    Not so vegan after all?

    Galaxy Nutritional Foods is recalling 4 oz. cans of Vegan Parmesan Alternative because they may contain milk ingredients. Several people have reported allergic reactions, and I don’t want to think about how many of us in the vegan community may have consumed the stuff. They’re saying that the offending product is in jars with a UPC code of 77172-64000 and with expiration dates of 4/01/07, 4/15/07, 4/29/07, and 5/27/07. But what about the bottle in my fridge, which has the same UPC code but an expiration date of 12/02/06…? Call Galaxy Nutritional Foods at 800-441-9419, ext. 224, if you’re not sure whether to toss yours.

    Unfortunately, milk seems to be the hidden ingredient of choice for food producers. In January, Lean Cuisine and Weight Watchers recalled frozen dinners because of undisclosed milk ingredients, not to mention plastic! Boston Bay Foods products were also found to contain undeclared milk proteins not too long ago. And who can forget when it was revealed that McDonald’s french fries were being cooked in oil that contains dairy as well as wheat, an added concern for those of us with a gluten intolerance (though personally, I couldn’t even think about stepping foot in a Mickey D’s anymore, but that’s just me).

    But it’s not just milk. Those who haven’t made the switch yet and are still vegetarian may have unknowingly consumed fish through some dairy and egg products, a result of cows’ and hens’ being fed fish.

    Thankfully, in January, a law went into effect requiring manufacturers to clearly label food products that are derived from or contain any of the top eight allergens: milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, peanuts, tree nuts, wheat, and soy. This was due in part to the large number of people suffering from food allergies, but hey, it helps those of us trying to avoid eggs and dairy too. Well, when it’s actually put into practice.

Instagram