SuperVegan Logo

As of October, 2013, SuperVegan is no longer under active development.
The site content remains online in the interest of history.

We are still active on Twitter:

To keep informed about future projects of SuperVegan, join the SuperVegan Projects mailing list:

The Amazing Instant New York City Vegan Restaurant Finder

Where?

 Either within
or 

How Vegan should the restaurant be?

(check all that apply)


Want more options? Try our mildly overwhelming advanced search page.

Search

 the entire site:

Lay Off Those Starfish if You’re a Vegetarian

Filed under: Health & Nutrition
Echinoderms

Echinoderms: perhaps they taste just like chicken

Good news for all Brits (and people thinking of getting food in Britain). That august body known as the Food Standards Agency has established apparently clear criteria as to what is a vegetarian product and what is vegan. You can read details of the story by clicking here and here.

Before you skeptics start shouting, “Yeah, there was confusion because people thought vegetarianism meant cutting down on red meat,” the Vegetarian Society of the UK and Vegan Society were involved. You can read all about it by clicking here (PDF). However, if you’re impatient to know, there are eight different food groups, with perhaps some surprising inedibles.

If you’re a vegetarian or a vegan you don’t eat:

  • A: livestock, red meat, poultry, game, etc.
  • B: fish, shellfish, crustacea, amphibians, tunicates, echinoderms, mollusks
  • C: insects
  • D: slaughter byproducts (e.g. fats and blood)
  • E: products made from A to D (e.g. gravies, stock and gelatin, additives, flavorings and carriers)
  • F: processing aids (made from A to E) used whether or not in the final food (e.g. isinglass)

If you’re a vegan, you don’t eat:

  • G: products of living animals, including insects, (e.g. milk, eggs, honey, bee pollen or waxes)
  • H: products made from or with the aid of G (whether or not in the final food) such as cheese made with vegetarian rennet, yoghurt made without the use of animal gelatin, whey, additives, flavorings and carriers, (e.g. lecithins)

No Comments

Comments are closed on this post.

Instagram