SuperVegan Logo

As of October, 2013, SuperVegan is no longer under active development.
The site content remains online in the interest of history.

We are still active on Twitter:

To keep informed about future projects of SuperVegan, join the SuperVegan Projects mailing list:

The Amazing Instant New York City Vegan Restaurant Finder

Where?

 Either within
or 

How Vegan should the restaurant be?

(check all that apply)


Want more options? Try our mildly overwhelming advanced search page.

Search

 the entire site:

The Vegan Candy Hierarchy of Deliciousness

Filed under: Food Humor & Comedy Stupid

Oh, do I love me some candy. This graph was ripped off from inspired by this. (Granted, my derivation is both glaringly rudimentary and a bit contrived – but, y’know I’m okay with that.) Please share your candy-related thoughts in the comments section below.


Photobucket

Update:I called Ferrara Pan and have confirmed that Lemonheads are in fact not vegan.
I have replaced them in the hierarchy with something equally as delicious and confirmed as vegan from various sources. Thanks to Ezekiel Grave for the tip!

9 Comments

  1. Comment by

    Ezekiel Grave

    on #

    I was pretty sure that “Lemon Heads” and similar candies are NOT vegan due to the fact that they contain “Confectioner’s Glaze”, which is another word for “Shellac”.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shellac

  2. Comment by

    BrownbirdRudyRelic

    on #

    @ Ezekiel.
    Thanks for the tip. (See update)

  3. Comment by

    catres

    on #

    Hmm, when I’ve contacted many of these companies in the past they wouldn’t tell me if they used non-bone char sugar. Are these items pseudo vegan (for those not concerned with sugar) or are any of these all-vegan and definitely don’t have bone-char sugar?

  4. Comment by

    BrownbirdRudyRelic

    on #

    @ catres

    The majority of candy on here has been confirmed by various sources as being suitable for vegans. Your questions with regard to bone-char is a little more nuanced and probably open to debate.

    See Reliable Source

  5. Comment by

    Theo

    on #

    dont forget the skittles

  6. Comment by

    happyherbivore

    on #

    I thought skittles were vegan now that they no-longer contain gelatin?

  7. Comment by

    madcow

    on #

    Hahah deliciously clever!

  8. Comment by

    Veganne

    on #

    Chick o Sticks, oh I how I love these flaky, peanut-y logs of deliciousness!

  9. Comment by

    Pinky

    on #

    I am desperate to find a Vegan candy store either on the upper east side or not in lower Manhattan I went to one in Forest Hills and they were CLUELESS! Help Its for a gift!

Instagram