SuperVegan Logo

As of October, 2013, SuperVegan is no longer under active development.
The site content remains online in the interest of history.

We are still active on Twitter:

To keep informed about future projects of SuperVegan, join the SuperVegan Projects mailing list:

The Amazing Instant New York City Vegan Restaurant Finder

Where?

 Either within
or 

How Vegan should the restaurant be?

(check all that apply)


Want more options? Try our mildly overwhelming advanced search page.

Search

 the entire site:

NYC Metro Area Vegan Restaurant Guide

Most Recent Restaurant Reviews

Subscribe to the latest restaurant reviews by XML feed or e-mail.

  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by hypo on July 10, 2011:

  • I have to tell you something. As a guy who eats pretty much anything on a plate I had no reservations to trying out something from the "Snail".


    First off the design of the truck is an inviting as the staff inside of it. They offer fresh, fantastic, organically grown food in the most intriguing combinations. I've been to the Red Bank Farmers Market on a number of occasions and always stop off for something.

    It doesn't matter to me if they serve vegan food. As long as the food is good, I'll eat it. AND THIS FOOD IS GREAT!!!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Terri (Chelsea) reviewed by veganatarian on June 29, 2011:

  • Terri has off the charts AMAZING vegan food! If I could rate it higher than a 5 I would. It seriously deserves a 10 out of 5 or even an 100 out of 5- anything to credit it with the fact that it is truly in a league of its own.

    The staff is incredibly personable too! The cashier and I got to talking and when my order came she was worried that she had gotten distracted and typed it in wrong. She immediately took action, went back and double checked because she wanted to make sure it was exactly how I wanted it (of course it was!). Servers in other restaurants I don't think would have given a hoot if I got exactly what I asked for or not. The thoughtfulness of this server and quality of my food made Terri a warm, welcoming, and worthwhile place to eat.

    Last but not least, I got the "chicken" quesadilla (with no hot sauce and peppers on the side) and it was delicious, filling, and much more satisfying than a "real" quesadilla. Definitely recommend it.

    Truly, Terri not only makes it easy to be a vegan, but also makes it fun!

    I'll be back many times to come!!!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 55
  • Cocoa V reviewed by martha on June 25, 2011:

  • I went to Cocoa V last night, the day before my Groupon expired. Well, it looked like the rest of NYC was there too. There was a line going well out the door and the place was packed. By the time I got inside all of the chocolate bars were GONE. As I shed a tear, I looked to my left and saw a ton of cupcakes so I stocked up on those and piece of chocolate cake. I must say that they are the best cupcakes I've ever tasted and the chocolate is insanely delicious. This place seriously puts Baby Cakes to shame. So next time you go to Cocoa V, if they are out of bars or whatever it is you fancy most, as long as they've got the cake and cupcakes in stock you are more than good to go!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Madras Mahal reviewed by veganfoods on June 15, 2011:

  • My wife and I went to a Meetup Group dinner where there were around 10 people at our table. The waiters mixed-up my wife's order and offered it to the person who ordered it, after it was obviously partially eaten. The food was greasy and unflavorful.
  • Food: 11
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 11
  • Blossom Du Jour reviewed by toni on June 12, 2011:

  • Get the Sky Scraper, Smokacado, or Midtown Melt and you won't be disappointed. Went here with a bunch of friends on Friday and it was all super delicious! Cute place, cool staff and we loved watching the rescued farm animals while we were eating. It made us all feel soooo good to be vegan!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by eryka on June 10, 2011:

  • all of you - try this food, you will not be disappointed. the smells alone make me drool and tell me i'm hungry, even when i know i just ate.....

    all of the sweets and pastry is sooo good. too good, and i eat and eat and eat it. those raspberry chocolate things mmmmmMmmMMMMMmMMMMmmmm

    the spinach pie type of creation is also delicious and i have actually had it appear in my dreams. yup i dream about food. i am not a vegan just a weird food snob with a ton of food allergies and I
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Happy Buddha reviewed by Moonlasers on June 8, 2011:

  • If you're vegan or vegetarian, they serve some pretty sexy food here- and show me a carnivore that turns down a plate, it's that kind of satisfying. The atmosphere is subdued, basically the polar opposite of a T.G.I. Friday's; the staff won't try to upsell you, in fact it was suggested to my party to skip an additional entree based on their portion sizes which to me says they have their priorities straight. Free Parking and location a plus, but being buddhist, no booze. eh. it's hardly even an issue, get a fruit shake and feel goooooooooooood about yourself.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Terri (Chelsea) reviewed by andrewvegan on June 7, 2011:

  • How disappointing! I had a green juice which tasted awful (they were giving out samples) and one of their sandwiches which was sub par. The bread was warm but the inside of the sandwich was cold and lack luster, and I have no idea what kind of meat substitute they are using. I asked the counter girl a question about an ingredient in one of the smoothies and she didn't know what it was. I went out of my way to go there, but I won't be returning.
  • Food: 22
    Atmosphere: 22
    Service: 22
  • Uptown Juice Bar reviewed by metope on June 4, 2011:

  • The new address of the uptown juice bar is:
    14 East 125th between Fifth Ave and Madison.
    They just opened their new place about a week ago. It is so much bigger and well lit up than the other location. No more squeezing between the counter and the wall. They now let you pick whatever you want from a hot salad bar and they charge you by the pound. Love the place!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 44
  • Blossom Du Jour reviewed by andrewsbrian on June 2, 2011:

  • Went today for first time. How disappointing, what is everyone raving about? I paid $15.95 for a lemonade and "Skyscraper". I was shocked when the sandwich was called to be handed a tiny foil package containing a sandwich that was an inch high, top to bottom, and the size of a regular slice of bread. A frozen "burger" two slices of tomato that covered a third of the sandwich, two rings of onion. It tasted ok. Indifferent customer service. I don't get it, I wouldn't return.
  • Food: 22
    Atmosphere: 22
    Service: 33
  • Dosa Hutt reviewed by sriram on May 31, 2011:

  • yet another srilankan dosa place where one can get a plain dosa & oothappam for under $4 each but are wafer thin unlike thiru's dosas which are much more filling & tastier. place looks better after the remodeling. the mini-lunch for $5 at the temple canteen next door is another great deal in the neighborhood but watchout for yogurt/ghee
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 44
  • V-Note reviewed by FromAtoVegan on May 31, 2011:

  • V-Note is from the creator of Blossom and Cafť Blossom and is within walking distance of Central Park and the Metropolitan Museum of Art. When you enter the restaurant, there is seating for couples against the front windows and two large booths for larger parties. On the right hand side is a large bench that runs the length of the restaurant, with several tables for seating for two and four people. On the left side is more seating and a large bar with seating. All of the seating in the restaurant is upholstered in white vinyl. The staff is very courteous and knowledgeable about the food and drinks.

    We started off with the seitan Schnitzel, breaded seitan medallions that were hot, crunchy and delicious, especially when dipped in the blueberry reduction. The potato salad was good even though it had a very strong herb taste to it. The extra flavor took away instead of adding to the flavor.

    My wife, had the Country Breakfast with tofu scramble, French toast, and soy sausage. This was the best tofu scramble I have had. It had lots of flavor and I wanted to trade plates with her. As a vegan it is hard to find good French toast and sausage and the V-Note cooked them both exceptionally well. If you are looking for a great brunch item, this is it.

    I had the Soy Bacon Cheeseburger with caramelized onions, vegan cheese, soy bacon, mushrooms, lettuce, tomato, and chipotle aioli on a sesame roll with French fries. If you are going to bring a carnivore to V-Note just order this for them and it will satisfy their taste buds. The rich, fatty, smoky flavors brought back memories of barbecuing in the backyard or eating at a fast food restaurant with friends and family. On the other hand, I had to keep telling myself it wasnít meat and it was a delicious vegan burger. The downside of this burger is the vegan cheese, which had a sour taste when eaten by itself. Once I got bites of all of the flavors together, the sour taste disappeared.

    My daughter, had the BLT with crispy southern fried tofu, tempeh bacon, lettuce, tomato, and field greens, and she said it was the best BLT she has ever had, which is high praise from a picky twelve-year-old.

    The V-Note has choices of smoothies or shakes and I had the Banana Berry with soy milk, banana, blueberry, strawberry, and orange juice, which are some of my favorite flavors together and this didnít disappoint me. The banana and berry were right and center in this thick concoction of smoothie goodness. My daughter ordered the Frappe with soy milk espresso, chocolate and vanilla ice cream, which was also delicious with a good caffeine kick.

    We didnít try the desserts since we were so full even though they looked delicious and we will make sure to save room for our next trek out to V-Note.
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 55
  • Sacred Chow reviewed by FromAtoVegan on May 31, 2011:

  • Before meeting up with the lovely Our Hen House ladies for an interview, we stopped by Sacred Chow in New Yorkís West Village for a bite to eat. Earlier that day, we had eaten at V-Note so we werenít very hungry; but we also didnít want to waste the opportunity to check out an institution like Sacred Chow. Itís quite a skinny little space they have, and you canít see the kitchen space at all unless you walk to the back of the restaurant. There were two other diners when we walked in and several more showed up shortly after we sat down.

    Their menu is different than standard restaurant offerings. They have tapas (divided between plant protein plates and complex carb plates), heros (sandwiches also known as subs or hoagies in our part of the country), salads, beverages, and desserts. I had heard about the food from my friend Lauren, so I knew I had to at least try some tapas to get the full experience. Jim and I decided on the orange blackstrap barbequed seitan with spicy onions, the root vegetable latkas with Indonesian date butter, and cold sliced ginger soba noodles with sweet and spicy peanut sauce. Rebecca ordered a 4 Seasons salad, which had greens, beets, carrots, apple, strips of yuba, and a Dijon vinaigrette (which was technically a small and quite large). She also ordered the Very Berry smoothie with apple juice.

    Needless to say, we ended up with some spicy vittles! The barbequed seitan had a thick and tangy sauce that just lingered on my tongue until I took a bite of latka, which balanced out the spice. The ginger on the soba noodles was just right for me, but Jim was already stuffed and didnít care so much for the spice at that point. Rebecca loved the smoothie and snorfled down the whole thing in just a short bit of time (and sheís one of those slow eaters). We had enough left over to wrap up and take home with us. I really liked being able to share my food this way, family style; it offers a more simple alternative to a structured restaurant environment and the food is just as tasty. I so wanted to get some of their poundcake or velvet triple chocolate brownie to goóbut I was stuffed already and didnít want to bulk up anymore for our interview. I was so satisfied, in fact, that I really didnít need any dessert at all and was fine until we ate breakfast the next day.

    I would highly recommend Sacred Chow. Itís inexpensive, centrally located in the Village, and has a diverse menu and fantastic food.
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 44
  • Angelica Kitchen reviewed by FromAtoVegan on May 31, 2011:

  • In our failed attempt to go to the NYC Vegetarian Food Festival on April 3rd, we opted for a better option than waiting in a mile-long line in the cold. We decided to have a good hearty meal at Angelica Kitchen. We always let our stomachs lead the way and hardly ever go wrong.

    Angelica Kitchen is an unpretentious and low-key spot, with a nice ambiance for casual dining. We were in a large group, there were nine of us, and we could carry on a decent conversation and hear what everyone was saying. That was actually unexpected, especially because they had a full house for lunch.

    Their Full Menu and Daily Specials (pdfs) were pretty extensive and made it hard to choose, a nice problem to have. Many of their dishes are made with whole grains and mild spices that remind me a lot of Alcaparra, a macrobiotic restaurant in S„o Paulo, Brazil I frequently dined at when I first became a vegetarian. Dishes are more earthy and less flamboyant than most other popular vegan restaurants and there are plenty of gluten-free options.

    Everything we had was delicious with the exception of one dish or other that werenít as good as the rest, but that doesnít mean they were bad. The highlights of our meal were the two specials we ordered óSgt. Tempehís Lonely Hearts Club Band and Still Specialó and the Olť Man Seitan, which hit the spot and satisfied my craving since our visit to Quintessence. All dishes we nicely seasoned and hearty portions, perfect for the hungry travelers at our table. The Dashi & Noodles were ok, the broth was nice and flavorful but the noodles didnít absorb any of it so they tasted a little flat.

    As for the desserts, the kanten was light and fresh. The tiramisu was nice and rich, as one should be. And the cheesecake was tasty too, but was more a tofu pudding pie and didnít have that cheesecake density and texture I was hoping for.

    All in all, we had a great meal and good time. We definitely recommend it if youíre looking for a whole foods dining experience.
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 33
  • Loving Hut reviewed by suzana on May 24, 2011:

  • it is great that it is so close to my house and I have been going ever so often (2 to 3 times a week). tried almost all the dishes and I can say vegan joy is probably my favorite.
    the only thing I am not happy is that the portion is so small. food taste very good but it is not enough (and I don't eat a much) even last time I went with my sister it was disappointingly little.
    not sure if I'll be going anytime soon.
  • Food: 33
    Atmosphere: 22
    Service: 44
  • Loving Hut reviewed by suzana on May 24, 2011:

  • it is great that it is so close to my house and I have been going ever so often (2 to 3 times a week). tried almost all the dishes and I can say vegan joy is probably my favorite.
    the only thing I am not happy is that the portion is so small. food taste very good but it is not enough (and I don't eat a much) even last time I went with my sister it was disappointingly little.
    not sure if I'll be going anytime soon.
  • Food: 33
    Atmosphere: 22
    Service: 44
  • Loving Hut reviewed by suzana on May 24, 2011:

  • it is great that it is so close to my house and I have been going ever so often (2 to 3 times a week). tried almost all the dishes and I can say vegan joy is probably my favorite.
    the only thing I am not happy is that the portion is so small. food taste very good but it is not enough (and I don't eat a much) even last time I went with my sister it was disappointingly little.
    not sure if I'll be going anytime soon.
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 22
    Service: 44
  • Boneshakers reviewed by halfie on May 24, 2011:

  • They're closed! Sadly. But they moved in with Champs bakery (though now with a much smaller sandwich menu).
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 44
  • Cowgirl's Baking reviewed by champurrado on May 24, 2011:

  • The burritos are so salty they're inedible. None of us could finish ours (which is crazy--we never do that!). Desserts are better but also strangely salty. Basically everything is done super cheaply. Sandwiches are store-bought wonder bread style slices with tofutti cheese slices and some meat analogue. Burritos use TVP soaked in gross salty broth for all the 'meat' fillings. TVP chunks and tofutti slices are just not really acceptable for a vegan restaurant in NYC in 2011. I'm really hoping they're able to step it up with higher quality ingredients as they have more success. In the mean time, I'd recommend buying the sweets but skipping the other stuff.
  • Food: 11
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 33
  • Gobo (Uptown) reviewed by Minion of Seitan on May 20, 2011:

  • Tried Gobo Uptown for lunch during the week, as I have been impressed by Gobo Downtown's creative and tasty dinners. Unfortunately, it did not match up.

    The "soy cutlet" was so chewy it was almost uneatable (I've had this problem making gluten when the gluten flour ratio is too high in the dough), which also-too-chewy sundried tomatoes and a near-absence of the advertised cashew sauce which sounded good. The small side salad had a dressing of straight balsamic vinegar - nothing else. I like balsamic vinegar but it was so strong it very difficult to eat. Worse, they served the sandwich and salad on a plate that allowed all the vinegar to run down under the sandwich and get soaked up the bread. So basically I had soggy, vinegar-y bread with a almost-can't-chew-it gluten lump.

    All the more suspicious that when I ordered the soy cutlet sandwich from the menu, my server told me they no longer made it. Then he said "well...OK, you can have it". Hmmm!

    The beijing-style tofu my tablemate got was fine.
  • Food: 22
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 33
Instagram