SuperVegan Logo

As of October, 2013, SuperVegan is no longer under active development.
The site content remains online in the interest of history.

We are still active on Twitter:

To keep informed about future projects of SuperVegan, join the SuperVegan Projects mailing list:

The Amazing Instant New York City Vegan Restaurant Finder

Where?

 Either within
or 

How Vegan should the restaurant be?

(check all that apply)


Want more options? Try our mildly overwhelming advanced search page.

Search

 the entire site:

NYC Metro Area Vegan Restaurant Guide

Most Recent Restaurant Reviews

Subscribe to the latest restaurant reviews by XML feed or e-mail.

  • JivamukTea Café reviewed by Minion of Seitan on May 20, 2011:

  • Today I wanted food around 10:30am - almost no place was serving yet in the Union Square area (other than chains) so I tried Jivamukti. While pricey ($13 for a sandwich), I must say that the BLT was one of the most delicious things I've had in a long, long time!

    Nice light in the dining area and a comfortable place to relax, read, and eat.
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 44
  • Cowgirl's Baking reviewed by lucifly on May 19, 2011:

  • Yummy treats and food. I really like the atmosphere! & they made a special sandwhich for me when what I wanted wasn't on the menu
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cowgirl's Baking reviewed by karla_marx on May 18, 2011:

  • I have been here twice, just to pick up desserts to go, and I have been thoroughly impressed each time! Today I got some doughnuts and my friend and I were amazed at the perfect texture. Just like the last non-vegan doughnut I had in 1996. Okay, it's been a while, but this was a great vegan doughnut.

    I've never tried the savory food, but the cupcakes, cookies, tarts, and doughnuts have always been wonderful. There's not much atmosphere of which to speak, but I have had great service and conversation with the owner each time I went.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 55
  • Cowgirl's Baking reviewed by bootpants on May 17, 2011:

  • I was super excited when Livingsocial had a deal. Pay $10, get $20 worth of food! I bought cupcakes, pretzel sticks dipped in chocolate, a donut... None of it was particularly amazing. I only finished the chocolate cupcake. Everything else I threw out after one bite. The pretzel sticks were stale, the chocolate white (old). I was very disappointed and will most likely not return soon.

    The staff seemed bored and didn't really care. The atmosphere was strange: Random burrito bar in the corner, hand-written posterboards for menus, no signage on baked goods, so I had to guess what everything was...

    I think as a vegan place you have to try even harder to be amazing, so you can win non-vegans over. This place clearly needs to work on that.
  • Food: 22
    Atmosphere: 22
    Service: 22
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by jamiealana on May 16, 2011:

  • I love the Cinnamon Snail and I make every effort to eat there as often as possible. I live in Central Jersey so I often have breakfast at the truck on Sundays at the Red Bank Farmer's Market. I have also been to Hoboken and NYC to get my fix!

    I am vegetarian but I often eat at the truck with friends and family who aren't vegetarian and they LOVE IT!!! My nephew is 2 years old and a donut from the Cinnamon Snail always makes him smile. I love their savory pastries as well. My favorite is their new lentil puff pastry which is stuffed with lentils and potaotes. Every bite is delicious. I also love their sweet treats. The donuts are my favorite but I also recently discovered the Mint Matlock cookie....oh boy.....it's like a blast from my past. I used to be a Girl Scout and to me these taste like a vegan version of the Thin Mint cookies. I usually order whatever the special of the day is for an entree and they always hit the spot.

    All the food at the Cinnamon Snail is vegan and made with love by Adam and his wonderful staff. I highly reccommend it to anyone and suggest that you follow the Cinnamon Snail on Facebook adn Twitter to find out where they will be next ;)
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by gsantollo on May 15, 2011:

  • This is simple. Adam Sobel is the best chef ever... He understands food better then food understands itself.
    The best meals of your life will come from the snail!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by Leeza612 on May 15, 2011:

  • Delicious Vegan food! The absolute BEST truck food I have ever eaten!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cocoa V reviewed by SamanthaV on May 13, 2011:

  • Man has Cocoa V stepped up their game! I've always been a fan but I was there last night and that place was kickin ass! They added a line of signature bars like pistachio cherry and salted chocolate -- and well, what can I say about that butterfinger bar? It's seriously out of this world. They have hands down the best chocolate cake I've ever tasted. It was a perfect evening. Chocolate, wine, great music and service. Thanks so much Cocoa V!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cowgirl's Baking reviewed by beanmail on May 12, 2011:

  • So disappointed; I've gone here twice so far and have not been impressed.

    The owner doesn't seem to smile, the staff seems bored, and the stuff I've tried has been so-so, bordering on "what people think vegan food tastes like".

    Eventually I'll return; hopefully I'll have my mind changed. But for now? Nope. Too many other fantastic places around.
  • Food: 33
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 33
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by LovingVegan88 on May 10, 2011:

  • Hands down the best vegan food I've ever had!! and it's from a food truck! Thank u Cinnamon snail for making this vegan transition so easy with your amazing food! First, I had the pleasure of meeting these guys in front of the veggie food festival, had the basil pesto tofu sammich! I instantly was psychotically in love at first bite! The freshness and the genious of the mixed flavors! Beyond! I've been going ever since, luckily hoboken is not to far from my job :) Their pastries are one foodgasm after the other, I highly recommend it! Esp. the smores donut thats my fave so far! I've also had the creole tofu sandwich, very spicy but thats all good with me, delish! I had their mushroom porcini burger also amazing, however it's a dish thats not always on the menu so call to check first. Lastly, I recently had their sage tempeh sliders, so full of flavor and goodness, the tapenade adds a perfect touch since im an olive lover! sometimes I just wasnt a whole cup of their tapenade lol! Can't wait to try their breakfast im sure it's perfection jst like everything from here has been! Including the warm welcome and friendliness u recieve instantly! LOVE U CINNAMON SNAIL!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by brittanyirwin on May 6, 2011:

  • Finally got to try the Cinnamon Snail after hearing so many great things about it & I am utterly blown away. I had the weekly special which was a porcini mushroom seitan burger, & finished it off with a marshmellow peanut butter pinwheel. The burger was a truly exquisite balance of texture & flavor...I wish it never ended....And as for the pinwheel: nothing short of bliss. I did not know vegan food could taste so incredible. Leave your expectations out of this one...Seriously, The Cinnamon Snail will not disappoint. I can't wait to go back! Thanks, Adam!!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Birdbath (Build a Green Bakery) (East Village) reviewed by NotBuyingIt! on May 4, 2011:

  • I used to go here when I lived in NYC. Overal really nice place. Yummy vegan goods and excellent customer service. There is no place for seating yet it gives of a nice, clean, friendly vibe. Highly recommend it!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 55
  • B&H Dairy Restaurant reviewed by NotBuyingIt! on May 4, 2011:

  • I used to eat here all the time. Truly hearty good food and not too expensive. They are one of the many Eastern European style restaurants in the East Village but, they are the only one that is vegetarian and Kosher (and the staff always seemed nice too). They offer a sizeable menu and have a very "Grease Spoon" type atmosphere. Despite the ever changing neighborhood surrounding them, they have maintained their "staple" establishment there for longer than I can remember (and I'm pretty old). Good for them for keeping it up all these years!
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 55
  • Angelica Kitchen reviewed by NotBuyingIt! on May 4, 2011:

  • Woops, I misspelled Angelica at no offence to the Angelica Kitchen establishment. Still the same low ratings though.
  • Food: 22
    Atmosphere: 11
    Service: 11
  • Angelica Kitchen reviewed by NotBuyingIt! on May 4, 2011:

  • I have eaten here a few times and even had take-out. I must say, I was never impressed and even disappointed. I lived across from two shy, quiet, modest and timid vegan girls who raved about the food here. Yet, they said that when they went they were mistreated by the staff and felt that it was because of the color of their skin (not white). ??? Is this post-civil war/equal rights America and New York City at that? I felt so horrible! Here were two nice girls who don't really go to restaurants much but, felt compelled because of their healthy and non-trendy lifestyles decided to patron Angelika cafe for their touting all vegan - organic - local cuisine. They wanted to eat there again but, were afraid. And even though I really never liked the food or service there much, I offered to go with them and as you may have guessed, I had another bland meal with a side of snooty-subpar service. I gave a low rating for atmosphere as service imparts atmosphere as well as comfort, other customers and interiors. I gave this place a 2 for food only because I got food poisoning from what appeared to be expiring fare from a veg place in midtown one time - or else I would give the bland, barely room temperature food from Angelika a rating of 1. It fails me why this is the most popular vegetarian restaurant in New York. Especially when there other healthy , local, organic, veg establishments in the same vicinity like Caravan of Dreams on 6TH Street. Baffled...
  • Food: 22
    Atmosphere: 11
    Service: 11
  • Am-Thai Chili Basil Kitchen reviewed by NotBuyingIt! on May 4, 2011:

  • I used to order from Am-Thai all the time from when I would stay in brooklyn and I really like the food. So sad I have moved and can't get their food anymore :( And yes, the mock duck is the best that I've ever had! There really is not much option for seating as it is mainly a take-out kind of place. I usually ordered the mango duck and scallion cakes/dumplings but, the other things I have had from there like the coconut curry or the cashew curry were delicious also. They are very open to altering the food for you as well. Every delivery was prompt and every order was always exact! I highly recommend it!
  • Food: 55
    Service: 55
  • The V-Spot reviewed by NotBuyingIt! on May 4, 2011:

  • Well, I have been back to V-Spot since my last review and whenever I had the chance on a semi-regular basis. My husband and I really enjoyed the food and the casual atmosphere there before we moved away from NYC. Everything we ate was delicious and the service was much more attentive than in my last review. My personal favorites are the Bandeja Paisa and Nachos with Gaucomole. If your in Park Slope, you don't want to miss out on this!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 44
  • Blossom reviewed by NotBuyingIt! on May 4, 2011:

  • I have eaten at Blossom once. Even though I tried to eat here three times but, was turned away because I did not have a reservation. I took one of my best friends there as a treat when I finally remembered to make a reservation. We were treated nicely, we liked the decor very much, but the food was definitely lacking. I had an appetizer of ravioli in cashew cream sauce which my friend tasted and we both agreed that it was just "okay" - I have made better cashew cream sauce at home and I would never get hired as even a lowly Line Cook. I tasted my friend's appetizer and felt that it was not even as okay as mine, I felt so bad and felt like she forced herself to smile while eating it. We decided to just get one entree and share so we could go elsewhere for desert. I forget what the exact title of the entree was but, it was a seitan dish - again, I felt that I have done better myself and I'm no chef. Everything was served at room temperature and not hot. My overall impression of the food here was that it is bland and nothing special despite the price, while not comparing it to any similar establishment. I hope that they have since improved.
  • Food: 22
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 33
  • Pukk reviewed by NotBuyingIt! on May 4, 2011:

  • This was one of my favorite places when I lived in NYC. This was my husband's absolute favorite place when he lived there. The food was delicious and innovative! They have some amazing cocktails and there's always a new, interesting special. The interiors are equally interesting and the service is great too. Highly recommend it!
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 55
Instagram