SuperVegan Logo

As of October, 2013, SuperVegan is no longer under active development.
The site content remains online in the interest of history.

We are still active on Twitter:

To keep informed about future projects of SuperVegan, join the SuperVegan Projects mailing list:

The Amazing Instant New York City Vegan Restaurant Finder

Where?

 Either within
or 

How Vegan should the restaurant be?

(check all that apply)


Want more options? Try our mildly overwhelming advanced search page.

Search

 the entire site:

NYC Metro Area Vegan Restaurant Guide

Most Recent Restaurant Reviews

Subscribe to the latest restaurant reviews by XML feed or e-mail.

  • Champs Family Bakery and Kingsland Sandwich Shop reviewed by hdeweyh on May 1, 2011:

  • Just visited today and had a super huge soft and scrumptious cinnamon roll and a yummy coffee with soy. The roll was so good I got more goodies for the road (mini danish, mini bear claw, mini cookie all for under $5!)
    I am in love with this vegan oasis.
    They have expanded from just being a bakery to serving sandwiches as well, be careful ordering as some of the sandwiches use real cheese.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 44
  • Rawstar reviewed by brooklynjon on April 28, 2011:

  • I had dinner at Rawster last night after stumbling upon it accidentally. I had the spaghetti with tomato sauce (it wasn't actually "sauce" but I can't recall the term used...it wasn't really spaghetti either), and my friend had the stuffed pepper with sea vegetable salad and a quinoa dish. Other than the sea vegetable salad being a touch salty (I suppose that's to be expected, it coming from the sea), the food was terrific. We also loved the ambiance and the exuberant friendliness of the staff. I'm gluten-free, and it would seem that there isn't a scrap of gluten to be found in the restaurant. I recommend it highly.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Burrito Box reviewed by blaupunk on April 26, 2011:

  • I work around the block from Burrito Box and have gone there for lunch five or six times. They appear vegan friendly, nod when you ask for your item in vegan form, etc. I typically order a Vegan burrito with spinach, portabella mushrooms, and tofu ("no cheese or sour cream please"). Today - after 5+ times ordering this - I was informed that the brown rice is made with butter ("Is that ok?" No!). Aggravating.
  • Dovetail reviewed by Minion of Seitan on April 26, 2011:

  • Vegan options at Dovetail were unprepossessing. The menu changes "seasonally" (not sure how avocados and tomatoes fit into early-spring menu) so it may be different at other times, but this time many dishes (especially the miso daikon) were so salty they were almost unbearable (and I like salt!). The vegan options are few and far between and while I appreciate the attempt, overall Dovetail does not have a particularly vegan-friendly feel (for instance, even after being informed that only vegan options would be chosen, the waiter brought a amuse-bouche to the table and left suddenly without stating if it was vegan or not).

    Additionally we were subjected to several "upsell" attempts on top of our prix fixe menu - but none of them were vegan (cheese plates, etc.)

    The chocolate pudding parfait was really delicious - definitely the best part of the meal. The service was fine. But I really expect more from a $46 prix fixe than dishes made without particular attention to how flavors, colors, or textures blend and enhance each other. For instance, the fried green tomatoes (while overall one of the better dishes) included hominy that, while cultural appropriate, were completely flavorless and added nothing to the dish.

    While many folks won't care (I don't), particular vegans should be aware that veal is on the same menu as the vegetarian/vegan options. They offer "vegetable focused" cuisine on Mondays but not exclusively so; rabbit, steak etc. was offered.

    Contrast this to what Amanda Cohen is doing - incredibly creative cooking where just about every dish is something like you've never had before that makes you look at that vegetable anew - and Dovetail seems like a lame attempt to capitalize on "meatless mondays" without putting much care and attention into it. If you insist on a Michelin star try Kajitsu (it's got one more than Dovetail anyway).

    Bottom line: save your dimes for Dirt Candy. You'll be glad you did.
  • Food: 22
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 33
  • Atlas Café & Bakery reviewed by Gastronomy gals on April 16, 2011:

  • Attention all vegans" Atlas is a fraud!!! Their own Hispanic counter staff said the owner regualry puts real cheese and dairy in so called vegan meals and says and I qoute "like they can tell the difference " my spouse went to order a crepe he looked left and right and said "if your vegan that has real cheese in it " he said he argues with the owner but that he refuses to stop the practice and he cooks crepes and other dishes on the same grills as the salmon , eggs and chicken. When we asked about a problem he screamed at us and told us to get out . ATLAS is Not worth the insults and definitely not worth the chance your being poisoned with animal product. Dear Sir if you want to stay in business i suggest you look up a atlas on the meaning of vegan I have been a chef for 38 years and your are the kind of owner who gives the business a bad name
  • Food: 11
    Atmosphere: 11
    Service: 11
  • Franchia reviewed by VeganMike on April 6, 2011:

  • I went to Franchia for the second time in a month and it just gets better and better. The service is as welcoming as can be. The atmosphere is delightful...very elegant and romantic. The food is amazing. One time I went with all sushi and the other time I tried one of their entrees. Both were great. Sometimes they run out of things on the menu but that's typical of places that only serve high quality, fresh food. Highly recommended.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Bonobo's Vegetarian Restaurant reviewed by VeganMike on April 6, 2011:

  • I stopped by here for some dessert and it was fantastic. It was some sort of pudding that was banana based. All the ingredients were organic and fresh. The pudding was very similar to ice cream. They let my date and I try all four flavors. I went with the cinnamon banana and she went with the pineapple banana. It was very tasty and refreshing. The staff was super friendly and helpful.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by dancovan on April 6, 2011:

  • simply...
    the healthiest
    Most tAsTy food i have ever eaten,.
    and it is served with what i could call,
    LOVE.
    Peace.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by jeanbien on April 5, 2011:

  • yay this is my fave place to eat ever!!! ive eaten at many many places.. in the city and around the country.. i actually live in nj so i get to eat lotsa treats from this super family.. donuts yum and the savory food double yum.. i find that most place have the same schizznit....i their creativity.. ive been vegan for prob 15 years now and its crazy to see where the vegan/organic world has gone!! the service is always with a smile and love, which is hard to find on the east coast!! its def my fave and closets ive found to the portland vibe which i also love!! they take food and yummyness to the next level..im sure most of this is sounding like gibber but the snail speaks for itself.. check it out and you be the judge.. namaste beatrice
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by toddthebaker on April 5, 2011:

  • I haven't been to the Snail in Hoboken, but had the awesome privilege of being fed by Adam many times last summer at the Farmer's Market in Red Bank. I was Papa Ganache, a vegan bakery, and selling my delicious treats at the market, and had the luxurious task of scarfing the Snail delectables for lunch on the weekly. As a "rival" vegan baker, I got sick of my own goodies, but still occasionally had to sample his desserts. But the real allure here was the fooood. And the attitoood. Adam gets so much love from his fans because he gives it out aplenty, and is so damn real about it. He taught me, when I complained about being up so early and working so hard, that we are blessed to do what we do, to feed people with compassion, to do what we love. He is a true original, and the meals reflect that. I can't remember what was on the menu last summer, and some things were better than others, but what Cinnamon Snail does is what we hope all vegan establishments do--make the "product' palatable to all comers, without reducing it to SAD fare. Non-traditional gourmet offerings in a recycled container to be "et" sloppily curbside, with no trail of suffering or disease leading to or from the plate? That my friends, deserves a 6.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by Anise on April 5, 2011:

  • Spinach pie to die for. Raw pizza like you never imagined. The best, the only ORGANIC and 100% VEGAN food sanctuary, anywhere!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by mrakiya on April 5, 2011:

  • Well here is a review for ya that is not a fake. I went to the Veggie Food Festival and could not get in but made a B-line for the Cinnamin Snail because I knew that the truck would be at this event and I have been waiting for months to try the food. I had the miso teriyaki sandwich with wasabi mayonaise. I am still dreaming about this sandwich. I did not finish the whole thing but instead carefully packaged my leftovers so that I could have them for dinner that evening. I separated the filling, put the bread in the oven to get it crispy again. And I was in heaven again. So good! Forever a fan. So much so that I am now willing to make the pilrimage to Hoboken!!! When you love what you are doing, and recognize that it is also a gift to be doing what you love - it shows. Make the trip and give it a try, you will not be sorry. I promise:)
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by jcanilly on April 5, 2011:

  • I don't know how this site determines what a fake review is...but I happen to know the owner of this establishment personally and know that they would never condone anyone posting a fake review about the truck. Maybe they should focus on deleting reviews that are not actually reviews because the people posting them have never eaten the food! As for the one person on here who thinks it is impossible for 17 people in row to give the Cinnamon Snail a perfect review, how long have you had a computer? When a business with as many fans as the Cinnamon Snail asks their followers for reviews, they get them! By the way, you don't know what you are missing! The Cinnamon Snail's food is out-of-this-world amazing and the family who owns it couldn't be better people. Their service is, in fact, perfect and every single time I have come into contact with anyone on the truck they have made me feel like part of their extended family. This is why people love them! I dare you to try and find better vegan food anywhere else on the planet!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by Vanya on April 5, 2011:

  • Love, love love Cinnamon Snail! Dreaming of a day when the truck is in NYC ;)
    I am very puzzled by someone's comment about not giving higher rate only because there are too many already... doesn't make any cense to me. Food is great, Adam is an amazing person, what else is there to look for?
    We can only dream of every vendor on wheels or not to be so dedicated to their dream of making delicious vegan food available everywhere.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by domenick on April 5, 2011:

  • WTF is up with people posting bad reviews, but saying they've never eaten the food???? If you haven't eaten @ the snail, you're missing out. That's why it's so popular. Because it's so damn good. There are a lot of reviews here because people like it. Stop being a hater and get a life people. And do yourself a favor, stop by the snail and treat yourself.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Cinnamon Snail reviewed by fnord0 on April 5, 2011:

  • Posting 1-star reviews that don't reflect your real opinion on the venue is so spiteful and childish. Were they posted by vindictive owners of some less popular food truck? The reality is that The Cinnamon Snail is a rare gem and Adam the owner deserves every compliment on this page. Everyone who actually bothered to try it, knows full well that the food is delicious, the pastries are to die for, and the atmosphere is great. The only downside is that the truck only visits Hoboken 2-3 times a week and sometimes even less often, depending on the weather, but then again good things do tend to come in smaller doses.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Indian Road Café reviewed by sassyfeminista on April 2, 2011:

  • As a neighborhood resident who has been here many times, I appreciate that they change their menu seasonally. Their newest vegan sandwich is their Banh Mi. Wow! I have never had a traditional banh mi so I was pleasantly surprised at how well the toasty baguette worked with the carmelized sweet onions, tangy barbequed tofu and asian slaw, fresh cilantro, crunchy cucumber and carrot, and Veganaise. Delicious! The sandwich comes with a side of mixed baby greens well-dressed with some kind of vinegarette. Altogether a wonderful addition to their menu.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Bagel Basket reviewed by Elise on March 31, 2011:

  • This place has great options for vegans, vegetarians and non-vegans too.
    I especially loved their whole wheat bagel with tofu scallion cream cheese.
    The place is clean, the service is friendly and efficient and the food is fresh and of supreme quality.
    will definitely be back!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
  • Sacred Chow reviewed by conniex721 on March 30, 2011:

  • I loved this restaurant. The space is cute, the food is good, and the server was nice. While this is not health food, it was quite delicious. The smoothies are fantastic, the tempeh and sweet potato soup quite tasty, and a tempeh tapa I ordered was one of the best tempeh dishes I've ever eaten. I think the food does tend to be heavy, but with the small portions it works out fine. I also like the presentation of the dishes; they come stacked on a tower! There was only one server, but he was quite friendly. I'd love to come back for brunch or dessert.
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 44
  • Maoz Vegetarian (Hoboken) reviewed by conniex721 on March 30, 2011:

  • This dinner was delicious! You can stuff a lot into those salad bowls. The juice was great and the fries were perfect. I would definitely eat here again.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 55
Instagram