SuperVegan Logo

As of October, 2013, SuperVegan is no longer under active development.
The site content remains online in the interest of history.

We are still active on Twitter:

To keep informed about future projects of SuperVegan, join the SuperVegan Projects mailing list:

The Amazing Instant New York City Vegan Restaurant Finder

Where?

 Either within
or 

How Vegan should the restaurant be?

(check all that apply)


Want more options? Try our mildly overwhelming advanced search page.

Search

 the entire site:

NYC Metro Area Vegan Restaurant Guide

Most Recent Restaurant Reviews

Subscribe to the latest restaurant reviews by XML feed or e-mail.

  • Zen Palate (Upper West Side) reviewed by andreasnyc on March 27, 2011:

  • New Vegan restaurant with beautiful outdoor spaces
    We went to the newest Zen Palate tonight and we were first struck by the great open spaces and design. This is going to be one of our favorite vegan-restaurants-with-outdoor seating once it gets warm! Looking forward to coming-back and sitting outdoors in the front space off the sidewalk or, even better, in the back along side the huge old tree+mega-vine that still grow out of part of the back space. We also liked the overall atmosphere and the two huge skylights in the back that must let in tons of light during the day.
    Our meals were very good, though we both like spicy / intensely flavored food so we asked for some hot sauce which spiced it all up quite a bit. We definitely over-ordered as we both had soups - my Hot & Sour soup was delicious. We then shared the Appetizer Sampler for Two which we quite big and a nice assortment. Then they brought out our main courses. The Temple of Zen was supposedly one of their more popular dishes and was very good. It was nicely / moderately spiced with a visually stunning array of vegetables along with grilled tofu and a garnish of fried kale. The Bankock Fried Rice was beautifully served in a half pineapple and was very good with small pineapple chunks in the fried rice along with the vegetables.
    We finished-off our extravaganza with a slice of their Banana Bliss (Banana Cream Pie) which was creamy and delicious. :)
    We're definitely going back!
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 44
  • V-Note reviewed by karla_marx on March 27, 2011:

  • Just went here for brunch and joined SuperVegan just so I could review this place! I went in slightly tired and hungover, and emerged fortified and happy! This is a cute place, more casual than Blossom, and the food was simply amazing. It actually did cure my hangover. I should shut up about that already, but I think that speaks volumes. The service was great, but there were very few tables, just to speak to others' reviews. I will definitely return!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Café Blossom reviewed by alf-redo on March 27, 2011:

  • perhaps the worst raw food i've paid for in a restaurant. i'm currently eating the raw pasta dish. at first i was very disappointed by how small the portion was but after eating some of this bland, coagulated pesto i'm kind of glad there isn't more. and thats all it is - zucchini noodles and bad pesto with a couple of red bell pepper strips. i also have the raw sweet potato roll appetizer. at least it was visually appealing, but pretty eh taste-wise, the sauce for the roll was good. i can't comment on atmosphere or service since i did pick up. after spending $30 i'm going to have to go to duane reade across the street for some fruit or something. i was looking forward to trying blossom du jour's raw stuff but if this is an indication i'll stick to rawstar or try out rock n raw
  • Food: 22
  • Zen Palate (Upper West Side) reviewed by MollyG on March 25, 2011:

  • I liked my dinner at Zen Palate UWS. My brother and I had the Sizzling Medalions (the more expensive medalions) and the Cantonese Pan Fried Noodles. The sauce on the noodles was a bit thick, but tasty. The sizzle was delicious. The atmosphere was fine. I'm so happy a vegetarian restaurant that I can do dinner at moved into that neighborhood.
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 44
  • Dirt Candy reviewed by Minion of Seitan on March 25, 2011:

  • I think Dirt Candy is probably the best vegetarian restaurant in the city - and of course that is not a compliment to make lightly. If you want yummy fried seitan or a hummus platter you can obviously get it cheaper somewhere else. But for that go-to place for a special night, there is no one else I know of that is doing the amazing, special, incredible things that Amanda Cohen is doing at Dirt Candy.

    The smoke cauliflower was to die for. The squash soup - aaaah yum. So many interesting touches in every dish; I eat more slowly at Dirt Candy then anywhere else because I want to savor and enjoy (and try to understand!) every bite, and because I never want any dish to end.

    Save up your pennies folks, it ain't cheap but can't be beat. Treat yourself to the popcorn pudding for dessert.

    They were also incredibly gracious and solicitous of it being my date's birthday - which only helped it be a truly special, and most romantic evening.

    Thanks Dirt Candy!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Blossom reviewed by VeganMike on March 24, 2011:

  • One of the best places to go for upscale fine vegan dining. The food was amazing and service was excellent. The atmosphere is very nice and pleasant. I got the chocolate ganche dessert that was SO good that I did not believe it was vegan (not that vegan desserts are all bad). It was super rich and tasted amazing...possibly the best vegan dessert I've ever had. If you have the money or are looking for a special dinner, this is the place to go.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Terri (Chelsea) reviewed by VeganMike on March 24, 2011:

  • I recently ate at Terri and it was wonderful. I got the "meatball" sub and the butterfinger shake...it was AWESOME! The service was great and everyone was real friendly. I definitely look forward to eating there again. The only thing you need to know before going is that the place is pretty small...only enough places to sit and eat for about 8-10 people (10 might be pushing it) and they are just stools up against the counters looking out the windows (fun for people watching). Great place to grab something quick or to go. Also, there is no bathroom there. All minor details when you consider how good the food is. The prices look funny but it's so when you pay your bill comes out to a whole dollar amount when you factor in the tax.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 55
  • Peacefood Café (Upper West Side) reviewed by VeganMike on March 24, 2011:

  • Great food, great atmosphere, great service. I've gone twice and both times everything was great. The first time I was alone and sat at the counter. The workers there were very friendly. The second time was with a non-vegan and she loved it. All the food is very good but the desserts are the best part. There is a large selection and be prepared to share even if the portion size looks small (they are rich and tasty treats). I look forward to going back there soon.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • JivamukTea Café reviewed by VeganMike on March 24, 2011:

  • Stopped by here on my way to visit a friend at Union Square. The service isn't as bad as others would have you believe on here though it's not great by any means. It's part of a yoga studio so the atmosphere isn't your typical place to eat with most people being very quite. The food was the most disappointing part of it. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. Very bland and less than average. Fine for a quick meal but don't go out of your way to eat here or bring any non-vegans.
  • Food: 22
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 33
  • Candle Café reviewed by VeganMike on March 24, 2011:

  • Every time I go to the city it's SO hard NOT to go to Candle Cafe. I've been close to a dozen times and it's been great every single time. The food is really good. The chicken parm sandwich is one of those items that I struggle with not to get every single time I'm there because while I love it, I really want to try something new. I've brought non-vegans with me to this place and they want to go back for more. The place is always packed no matter when you go but I've never had to wait more than 10 minutes to get a table. The service is fantastic. And don't be surprised to see a celebrity every now and then.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Souen Soho reviewed by beanmail on March 16, 2011:

  • I'm not really a healthy eater, but when in Rome...order the macro plate. Having never eaten macrobiotic food before I didn't know what to expect. Basically a plate of un-seasoned food?
    -The beans seemed simply heated out of a can: un-rinsed
    -the seaweed & watercress reminded me of over-cooked cabbage, mushy and chewy respectively
    -broccoli and squash was seemingly simply steamed
    -rice was a bone dry mass
    -the tahini dill dressing tasted more like water-thinned tahini

    On a good note, the room was sparse but clean, the crowd eclectic and warm, the waitstaff efficient. It's possible that macro food simply isn't for me, but I can only go by what my tastebuds tell me. In fairness, my fellow diners both enjoyed their meals.
  • Food: 22
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 44
  • Zen Palate (Upper West Side) reviewed by neilzim on March 14, 2011:

  • Since I live just a few blocks away, I've gotten in the habit of treating myself to a meal here at least once a week. They have a great variety of tofu and seitan dishes with various combinations of vegetables and flavors. I've tried something different on each vist and always wound up happy and full with their generous portions. Service is quick, yet I never feel rushed out. The only downside for me is the decor/ambiance, which is more of a banal, upscale, new age kind of feel than the cozy hole-in-the-wall type that I prefer. But I don't let that keep me away, and I hope they stick around.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 55
  • Sun In Bloom reviewed by zags on March 12, 2011:

  • Have a Sweet Lady Green juice, a tempeh rueben or bloom burger wrap, a slice of raw mango nut cheesecake and you might think you died and went to heaven. Aimee, the proprietor and master of all that is positive and warm, will welcome you to her vegan oasis in the desert. Make yourself at home, sit back and relax and you will be a happy camper. The hot or raw soups, macro plate, delectible desserts, breakfast or daily specials, raw pressed juices, you name it, you will enjoy the taste and the vibration. It truly is sun in bloom at this cozy, delicious cafe and hang out joint. If you're on the run, grab a bit of heaven from the ready-made options and be on your way. I just finished eating and the only thing I'm sad about is that I'm not still eating. But I might be back later today. Come with friends, the love of your life or on your own. WiFi too.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Blossom Du Jour reviewed by gaylesmith on March 11, 2011:

  • Heard they are opening up near Astor Place and I can't wait! Now I can have that Smokacado Wrap every day!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 55
  • Kyotofu reviewed by vautrin on March 7, 2011:

  • very tasty, but for a place with tofu in almost every item, you'd think they could be a little more vegan friendly... got the tofu dips, which were all amazing, and a noodle soup which looked vegan, but i was a little worried might secretly have bonito in it... Didn't manage to totally figure out from our waiter which desserts were vegan, but the ones we got seemed to be, hopefully? They were definitely delicious.
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 33
  • Peacefood Café (Upper West Side) reviewed by andreacarioca on March 6, 2011:

  • This is probably my favorite place for lunch in UWS. Peace Food has a great menu and impressive specials. The nicely decorated place is always crowded with healthy-good looking people. The owner is extremely pleasant and compassionate.
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 55
    Service: 33
  • Hummus Place (UWS) reviewed by andreacarioca on March 6, 2011:

  • The best place to bring your non-vegan friends! The food is all vegetarian but labeled as Mediterranean! :) The Tabule Quinoa salad, the Roasted Eggplant, and their 4 types of hummus are all delicious. The pita bread is fresh and usually comes warm!
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 44
    Service: 44
  • Hampton Chutney Co. (West Side) reviewed by andreasnyc on March 6, 2011:

  • Great to have some vegan dosas in NYC's UWS! I've been to Southern India, the home of the dosa, and just love them. When I was in India I had bout 2-3 per day - I just couldn't get enough! It's great that Hampton Chutney has a couple already-vegan dosa on their menu and a small amount of substitution an give you a bunch more. I hope they put even more vegan ones on their menu. Note that these are non-traditional dosas. They mostly have more "Western" fillings though they are good in their own right. The places like Pongal on Lexington and 27-28 St's is good for traditional Indian dosas.

    The #4 Grilled Portobello Mushroom, Spinach & Roasted Onions Dosa for $8.95 is really savory and, writing this, I now need to go get one! Note that most of their dosa are non-vegan and some are non-veg, but most can be "saved" and made happy and yummy! The #2 - Calamata Olives, Tomato, Roasted Onion, Arugula (minus the Goat Cheese) is good too.
    Oh, I forgot to mention that they have a great selection of interesting chutneys to choose from. Do make sure to ask which ones are vegan as some are not, but the vegan ones I've tried are great including a very good, though non-traditional, mango chutney that's got a bit of bite.

    Note: it's a nice counter-service place and good in that category, but not comparable to a good sit-down place hence my ratings. :)
  • Food: 44
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 44
  • Hampton Chutney Co. (West Side) reviewed by andreacarioca on March 6, 2011:

  • Their dosas are really good but be careful because they have lots of cheese filling. Great vegan soups and some unique delicious chutneys.
  • Food: 33
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 44
  • Café Viva Natural Pizzeria reviewed by andreacarioca on March 6, 2011:

  • Best pizza in NYC with Daya VEGAN cheese, non-dairy pesto, tofu toppings, and tons of veggies options. The pie crusts are fantastic in wheat, spelt, and more, and the variety of deserts is very limited (some days they only have one type) but they are from Vegan Treats!
  • Food: 55
    Atmosphere: 33
    Service: 22
Instagram